Fiery Furnaces
Bitter Tea

Fat Possum
2006
B
Reviewed by: Mike Powell
Reviewed on: 2006-04-18



Posted 04/18/2006 - 11:17:15 AM by gM.Ed.:
 Not sure if I'll ever purchase a TFF album but your review sure made me curious about this one! an honest retrospective of the psychedelic experience, well done too
 
Posted 04/18/2006 - 01:40:38 PM by kilas99:
 This album isn't on Rough Trade; it's on Fat Possum.
 
Posted 04/18/2006 - 01:46:43 PM by mikepowell:
 Thanks--the error has been corrected.
 
Posted 04/18/2006 - 02:49:41 PM by roadrunner:
 Why are they being associated with drugs? This doesn't make any sense...what does the music sound like? You say it's yr favorite Furnaces album, but you don't say why or what makes it good except that it's good when taking drugs. Please, for those of us not hooked on psychedelics, review the album.
 
Posted 04/19/2006 - 05:58:34 AM by mssrpoiccard:
 Loveless on psychedelics...oh man. "To Here Knows When" does it every time for me; there's something so organic about it--an alive, undulating warmth--that I find positively euphoric. I could go on for days, but let's just say that MBV and phenethylamines are a rarified combination.
 
Posted 04/20/2006 - 06:48:50 PM by motelmoka:
 I miss drugs-..
 
Posted 04/22/2006 - 02:13:43 AM by mrtntrn:
 I don't know, roadrunner, but this does sound like a review to me. Who says you have to always talk about how the music sounds to call it a review?
 
Posted 05/16/2006 - 10:34:33 AM by Fedums:
 Maybe you don't have to talk about how the music sounds to call it a review, but you do to call it a music review. This was just a review of an accessory that goes well with psychedelics. This website is more pretentious than Pitchfork. Congratulations.
 
Posted 05/22/2006 - 04:53:11 PM by BeingaBunny:
 I'm not a Furnaces fan, but I just wanted to comment on how nice it is to get a review from Mike Powell! This guy knows how to do a good review. I hope the other Stylus writers take note coz some of those guys are so dumb.