The Pipettes
We Are the Pipettes

Memphis Industries
2006
B-
Reviewed by: Mike Powell
Reviewed on: 2006-07-18



Posted 07/18/2006 - 10:00:23 AM by KissMyGrits:
 yeah, you would think they would have turned out a more interesting take on the girl group sound. i mean shit man, there were girl groups way back when that already had far more interesting sounds than this one. it's like little girls playing dress up; they're cute and everything, but you would never mistake them for the real deal. however, the second track is hell of catchy.
 
Posted 07/18/2006 - 04:18:20 PM by AKMoose:
 This review is a joke. You mention the fucking Wu-Tang Clan in the first sentence, but don't prove you even know the name of a Pipettes song until the end of the fourth paragraph. Useless.
 
Posted 07/18/2006 - 09:18:46 PM by allison1:
 That's because the review is emphasizing what makes this album basically disappointing, despite an endearing premise. Actually, this review articulated my reaction to the band quite fucking well.
 
Posted 07/18/2006 - 09:33:55 PM by adentice:
 People who continue to go on to these comments pages and complain that the review "doesn't talk about the music, maaan", are really starting to annoy me. There are hundreds of places you can go to get a by-the-numbers take on how an album sounds, hell meta-crtic fucking combines them in one easy click. So stop ranting about reviewers who try to be a bit different and entertaining. Wankers.
 
Posted 07/18/2006 - 11:05:29 PM by barbarian:
 anyone who would think this could even be good is either gay or dumb. no offense to gay people or dumb people intended at all.
 
Posted 07/19/2006 - 01:46:46 AM by AKMoose:
 Forgive me for expecting a music review to make at least a passing reference to music. This wasn't different or entertaining. This was psuedo-intellectual drivel trying to analyze a piece of pop music with masturbatory cross-references to English major friends and unrelated hip-hop groups. Walk dog, walk dog? What the fuck?
 
Posted 07/19/2006 - 06:02:49 PM by astronaut:
 I think you fail to remember that every other girl group single from the "Heyday" was easily as lukewarm and hit-or-miss as this album as this album as a whole. 40 years weeds out the weaker ones. To bring a comparison of a debut album from one group to the Girl Group Greatest Hits of the 60s is unfair. Sure, it's got some serious duds, but "Pull Shapes", "Your Kisses are Wasted on Me", "Sex", and "Judy" might as well enter the canon.
 
Posted 07/20/2006 - 11:37:05 AM by CosmicMo:
 I think the whole point of The Pipettes is that they are NOT meant to be taken seriously. Yes, they are “like little girls playing dress up; they're cute and everything”. They are light and fun. And that’s it. “But you would never mistake them for the real deal”? I don’t know. What’s the real deal? They entertain me and they engage me. That’s a real enough deal for me. Ps: I haven’t found the review informative enough either.
 
Posted 07/26/2006 - 04:21:35 PM by barbarian:
 Yeah, the review sucks, but this is Stylus Magazine. All the reviews here are terrible. As far as The Pipettes go, they are too insignificant to dislike, yet catchy and fun. As usual, however, music this light gets old fast. Even though the girls are cute, I'm not interested in another album from them. Hell, you don't have to hear more than a minute of a song to get their entire gist. If it is fun for you, enjoy yourself. If it isn't fun for you, close your eyes and they will disappear.
 
Posted 07/26/2006 - 04:23:19 PM by barbarian:
 Oh, a gimmick girl pop group! My fav. genre...