Lily Allen
Alright, Still

Regal
2006
D
Reviewed by: Dom Passantino
Reviewed on: 2006-07-21



Posted 07/21/2006 - 08:03:42 AM by meatbreak:
 You forgot to mention that live, she ain't all that nyver an' 'as a backin' band of middle aged middle waged session musicians. Get down with that why don'cha.
 
Posted 07/21/2006 - 11:14:16 AM by vsvsvs:
 I hate you Dom Passantino. But for this review, I love you. Mainly because I hate Lily Fucking Allen more.
 
Posted 07/21/2006 - 11:25:10 AM by badhaircut:
 What vsvsvs said ;)
 
Posted 07/21/2006 - 12:08:26 PM by mvdu76:
 All the positive reviews of this album are right. This review stinks.
 
Posted 07/21/2006 - 12:13:35 PM by brian586:
 I think the reviewer spent too little time just listening to the music and too much time doing a frontline investigation on lily allen. I give two shits about lily allen, but her music is really great. Dom, you should write for pitchfork.
 
Posted 07/21/2006 - 01:27:00 PM by Subwoofer:
 The comment above is sort of ridiculous considering the review pretty much goes through every song.
 
Posted 07/21/2006 - 03:28:59 PM by wmurch3:
 I stopped reading at the second to last paragraph when the reviewers intentions became all too clear.
 
Posted 07/22/2006 - 12:34:59 PM by ieatseeds:
 i feel you! but you gotta give her SOMETHIN'!
 
Posted 07/24/2006 - 09:40:19 AM by seligb:
 Oh dear, she's certainly rubbed you up the wrong way
 
Posted 07/24/2006 - 11:16:41 AM by lunaharpua:
 Wow, I am so sick of angry, ironic, snarky, self-righteous music critics. That was embarrasing to read. wmurch3 has hit it on the head -- it looks like you've got an agenda, and it's sad to witness. That's why I stopped reading Pitchfork! And now I have to get it from Stylus. By the way, about two months ago, this site was the first place I'd ever heard of Lily Allen...a rave review of the tunes she posted on MySpace. I checked her out, loved her irreverence, and was excited that something this well-made might actually make it on the radio. I didn't give a sh*t where she came from, and it was fun reading her blogs and witnessing her fame explode week after week. However, I'm not sure where you're getting your facts. She never complained about any waiter, she never bragged about her dress, she never seriously complained about her upbringing (although who doesn't?), and if she does have an identity crisis, who's to blame her? She's f*cking 21 years old! Now, about the music, Dom, I think your rage has blinded you to what appear to my eyes to be harmless observances of her experiences as said 21-year-old. Whether or not they're embellished, who cares??? Whatever, it seems like Lily Allen's a flashpoint for controversy, which is fine in my book. I like that.
 
Posted 07/26/2006 - 05:17:08 AM by ESTEBAN_BUTTEZ:
 Hay guys, here's a picture of the reviewer living life and loving real pop: http://static.flickr.com/57/183532830_d78586b8bc.jpg?v=0
 
Posted 08/03/2006 - 10:17:15 AM by mybloodywtf:
 I'm going to save this review for when someone who rejected me to the high school prom ends up releasing an album and I need a place to shake my fists at and I happen to be a writer at some website instead of carousing on myspace 24/7 like most rejects do. Not that anybody ever rejected me as a prom date but that's besides the point, innit? All I'm saying is that recently most pop artists I've heard tend to sound pretty well-privileged, from Girls Aloud to 50 Cent, not that 50 Cent isn't any good, but seriously, someone whose friends helped make her smile is somehow more privileged-sounding than someone who bets that your girlfriend is hotter than her? Of course, you could listen to Le Tigre and Of Montreal and pretend to love pop and whatever but Alright Still's a terrific record. So we come to the only logical conclusion, that "Not Big" was written about the reviewer. Either that or we don't come at all to any kind of conclusion, I haven't figured out life as much as the reviewer has. p.s. Pitchfork gushed over this album.
 
Posted 08/15/2006 - 05:19:44 AM by MC_Tatsujin:
 Err, I disagree obviously, the lyrics are very interesting and capable of grabbing interest. But put that aside, the music is gold. She definitely knows her samples. Pity though "Nan, You're A Window Shopper" didn't make it. We can conclude though that this is a great album.
 
Posted 08/17/2006 - 08:10:52 AM by dagenspost:
 Good one Dom! Never could understand lallen, or anthony johnson either for that matter. Nice to know I'm not alone. (i still like annie though)
 
Posted 08/18/2006 - 08:45:44 AM by J_R_K_:
 not everyone lives as vicariously through records as you apparently do dom. so if you aren't wishing annie was your gf, i guess you are into what? devandra? are you a hippy?
 
Posted 08/21/2006 - 07:08:10 AM by fluffcore:
 "Look, every year music critics start stroking it over some musician just because they wish she was their girlfriend. Annie, MIA, Antony and the Johnsons... in 2006 it's Lily Allen." lovely sentence, even though it makes you look younger (or so much older?) .)
 
Posted 10/20/2006 - 06:28:59 PM by garlad1:
 Wouldn't it be cool if the posters could rate the reviews? Dom, you get a D...The Antony bit was actually pretty funny.
 
Posted 02/16/2007 - 10:33:22 PM by barbarian:
 i typed stuff in but i lost it so im not even going to bother which is what i think we all should do here
 
Posted 03/22/2007 - 02:00:36 PM by DeathCharon:
 This review is so on. "Remember MIA?"-exactly. The last paragraph is exactly what I thought when I heard this. Good job.
 
Posted 04/01/2007 - 06:52:27 AM by cinatyte:
 Allen's music may not be high art, but I still think it's above 'D' material. Whenever I see Dom's name on a review, I take it with a grain of salt. All that said, the Antony thing WAS pretty great. I keep thinking back to that line, and that's what makes this review a classic. Just don't let Dom anywhere near the next Streets record.