The Rapture
Pieces of the People We Love

Universal
2006
B+
Reviewed by: Nick Southall
Reviewed on: 2006-09-13



Posted 09/13/2006 - 07:36:55 AM by meatbreak:
 The new single is dreadful - Luke Jenner is singing like Sting and the music is really tired - or as you put it Nick, R'redolent of stereo MC's' - you couldn't find a better definition of tired if you tried. I'm not especially interested in this album which is a shame as their last one was good and OOTRAOTTT was outstanding. Smoother, sleaker, lamer weaker.
 
Posted 09/13/2006 - 11:09:02 AM by smwynne:
 It's a damn solid album. I think some people's expectations may have been a bit high, and all they know how to do is cast aspersions.
 
Posted 09/13/2006 - 11:43:25 AM by meatbreak:
 O.K, O.K. Fair point - I probably will listen to it, but I have serious doubts over it's solidity based wholly on the paucity of atmosphere in 'Get Myself...'
 
Posted 09/13/2006 - 12:56:33 PM by Zarklephaser:
 Nick, Echoes was certainly not the Rapture's debut album - they put out the full-length Mirror in 1999, which is quite charming, followed by the EP Out of the Races and Onto the Tracks in 2001, which is brilliant and a fantastic transition to Echoes. You would do well to check out both of those albums - you'll get a better picture of the Rapture over their career and hear some great music in the process.
 
Posted 09/13/2006 - 01:58:52 PM by blownspeakers:
 I think he said "major label debut" when referring to Echoes, which is correct. Overall, I'd say Nick's review covered my thoughts on this record almost exactly. Brainless fun; but great brainless fun.
 
Posted 09/13/2006 - 03:17:16 PM by fmadden:
 I agree with the review for the most part. Very enjoyable listen and a satisfying follow-up to an album I liked a lot. I would say the "great funky dance record with guitars, and not much more" line isn't that accurate and is purely there to set up the conclusion however. Personally I've never considered Mirror as a "real" Rapture album anyway...feels more like an old EP. Safer and Andruzzi weren't involved in it, and the best song IMO off of Mirror (Olio) was even reworked for inclusion on Echoes. There's obviously some continuity as you go from Mirror to Out of the Races to Echoes to Pieces, but I'd say they changed a lot in the process.
 
Posted 09/13/2006 - 05:12:01 PM by NickSouthall:
 Ah - I have Out Of The Races and like it - Mirror I've onyl ever seen once or twice in the UK on import and I was under the impression it was a mini-album / extended EP. Thanks for the clarification guys.
 
Posted 09/13/2006 - 05:52:04 PM by idunnowhy:
 yeah i barely count mirror as an album. what is it, like 9 tracks with an annoying remix and 3 filler tracks? But it's good at any rate. The first 3 songs on this new one are great, and "the devil" is fun, but all the rest of it kinda falls flat. all in all, not a bad effort