The Decemberists
The Crane Wife

Capitol
2006
B-
Reviewed by: Josh Love
Reviewed on: 2006-10-04



Posted 10/04/2006 - 09:37:00 AM by AKMoose:
 "...while the former actually includes a reference to the existence of cars, a shockingly out-of-place acknowledgment in the Decemberists’ world)" Oh, come on, now. It was a cute line, but they have plenty of songs like this already. They have a song about losing a dude's bike, and "16 Military Wives," "Los Angeles, I'm Yours," "The Sporting Life," and "Song for Myla Golberg," among others, are hardly historical. Plus, he already said "motorcar" in "The Bagman's Gambit." Interesting review, anyway.
 
Posted 10/04/2006 - 10:22:35 AM by npopp5:
 I guess I mostly agree with the review in substance. I just care a lot more about the music, and much less about the lyrics. And so I find this to be a wonderful album. But if the reason you love the Decemberists is the lyrics, then this is probably somewhat of an apt review. Shankhill Butchers is great for both music and lyrics however.
 
Posted 10/04/2006 - 11:58:49 AM by mvdu76:
 Completely wrong. Guess the lyrics are just beyond Stylus, because they are very compelling and also unique.
 
Posted 10/04/2006 - 03:43:50 PM by Richie_A:
 My main bone of contention with this review would be the dismissal of The Island as "bad Irish prog".. that keyboard heavy midsection may require the listener to embrace prog absurdity to an extent but it's a stormer of a song, never fails to have me turning the volume dial up and wanting to jump around the room.. and even if you hate that part, the final section (You'll Not Feel The Drowning) is probably the most beautifully simple motif on the album. I agree that the topics of the songs are sort of a cliche for the band at this stage (once you've established a reputation for this kind of 'history pop' it must be hard to mine new ground) but they're so well crafted that they redeem themselves.. try reading them on paper, the subtleties don't really come across the first few times you listen to them.
 
Posted 10/04/2006 - 08:31:02 PM by KlausFraktal:
 The band sounds castrated on this album. Very disappointing.
 
Posted 10/05/2006 - 01:47:17 AM by gregarious:
 Amazing album. If this was on Kill Rock Stars, i would predict an A- review.
 
Posted 10/07/2006 - 09:59:51 PM by barbarian:
 decemberists are one of the worst bands these days right after xiu xiu.
 
Posted 10/17/2006 - 03:54:30 PM by dukeufo:
 this is possibly the only dude in the world who would give matisyahu, dylan and the decemberists all the same score, a B minus.