Jay-Z
Kingdom Come

Roc-A-Fella
2006
C
Reviewed by: Ian Cohen
Reviewed on: 2006-11-22



Posted 11/22/2006 - 07:38:59 AM by johnedowney:
 I agree with most of your commments (it's an OK album at best), but I have to disagree with you on "Beach Chair". It's one of my favorite songs on the album despite my complete distaste for Chris Martin, and (this is where I become a dickhead, but whatever) every other review that I've read, positive or negative, has praised that song. To each his own, I know, but c'mon. The song's not THAT bad.
 
Posted 11/22/2006 - 07:55:42 AM by Seth2006:
 How is "sex with both Beyonce and Rihanna in the last year alone" an accomplishment? Both women are something like half his age, Rihanna in particular. That's gross on his part, not great. I mean, that age gap is approaching Mark Foley levels. Funny review re: Dipset, though.
 
Posted 11/22/2006 - 12:09:17 PM by J_R_K_:
 Of course that's an accomplishment. And age gaps don't work like that. Worst comment ever.
 
Posted 11/22/2006 - 12:26:52 PM by :
 JRK, Jay-Z is well-known for being a closet homosexual, I know people who swear they've seen him more than once at gay bars in the VIP, and Beyonce "doesn't have sex" because she is "a virgin" and some shit about "God" or "The Bible." Ever heard of the term "beard"? Or "relationship cooked up by our PR camps for career boosting purposes"?
 
Posted 11/22/2006 - 12:41:06 PM by :
 cf. Bennifer Lopaffleck. Is your movie the worst ever made? Need to save it at the box office? Make sure your male and female leads start a highly publicized "engagement" complete with canary yellow diamond ring. Then, as soon as the film is out on DVD, let both leads proceed to dump each other and get married a month later to their real boyfriend/girlfriend.
 
Posted 11/22/2006 - 06:01:20 PM by idunnowhy:
 this album really is a shame, because a few tracks are decent enough, but the rest are pretty much without any redeeming value. The three Just Blaze ones work well, Kanye's isn't too terrible, Dr. Dre's two are ok... the rest, total forgettable shit
 
Posted 11/22/2006 - 08:33:53 PM by pelicaine:
 C+. He coasts through this album, which sounds better than what any other artist on the radio can come up with while at rhymezone.com listening to hooked on phonics. the beats are above average. the "superfreak" flip is nice. and that neptunes beat is my guilty pleasure. kanye's beat is him circa 2004. i liked it. dre's beats are solid. the beat on "dig a hole" fooled me. i thought that was dre just by listening. it was swizz beatz. must have been a leftover dre knockoff the game didn't want. at least the cd has a structure. the two just blaze beats are adjacent and the schmaltzy tracks are adjacent as well (neptunes and syience). jay-z is just rapping because he can right now. kinda like cam'ron minus the nonsense. whatever.
 
Posted 11/22/2006 - 11:05:04 PM by :
 show me what you got is shamefully terrible
 
Posted 11/22/2006 - 11:07:54 PM by idunnowhy:
 oh yeah, i forgot about the swizz beats one...that's ok. I dunno why pitchfork ragged on that and "30 something" so much. The latter really is smooth, even with some stoopid lyrics
 
Posted 12/09/2006 - 11:20:24 AM by Moon_Unit:
 Does Anybody but me realize that Jay took the saxophone sample from Public Enemy's "Show 'Em Whatcha Got" and put it on his "Show Me Whatcha Got? Is this supposed to be some kinda pun or joke, cuz I don't think it's funny. It's fine that rappers sample other people's music, but when you start sampling samples of other people's music AND using the same title, it's not artistic or original, it's just dumb.
 
Posted 12/12/2006 - 04:38:26 PM by johnedowney:
 SOMEBODY needs to take music a little less seriously...