Do Make Say Think
You, You’re a History in Rust

Constellation
2007
B+
Reviewed by: Tal Rosenberg
Reviewed on: 2007-03-20



Posted 03/20/2007 - 09:26:14 AM by raskolnikov:
 Do Make Say Think have been a great band since their second album--Goodbye Enemy Airship the Landlord Is Dead--was released. Glad to see you're giving them some love, but isn't the GYBE comparison tired after seven years now? The two bands never sounded a thing like each other, their instrumentation and approach were totally different both live and in the studio. As far as Tortoise is concerned, DMST has been a superior band to them for years, and Tortoise hasn't written a single song as memorable as anything on the last four DMST releases. Actually, Tortoise hasn't released even a slightly memorable song since 1998....
 
Posted 03/20/2007 - 10:10:41 AM by meatbreak:
 Wow, a rare moment when me and Rask are in complete agreement, right down to Tortoises' lack of substance since the early years. I find that comparisons to GYBE, despite sharing band members in DMST's case, are brought out in a rather unimaginative with this kind of post-rock. I guess it's a good starting reference to build from and maybe we will have to concede that anything long and instrumental will be considered analogous to them, though above that, I think it is the narrative element to the music that is the reason for it. Something DMST are increasingly excelling at.
 
Posted 03/20/2007 - 11:01:56 AM by florenz6:
 Some days ago, I was talking with someone about the "breathing quality" of good music. DMST are, in their best pieces, a good example for that. Their approach to music (using repetition, crescendo, adding single instruments etc.) might produce schematic compositions bound to well-defined formulas. That could become a boring affair. But, on this album, they very often change their approach. What, on the other hand, might lead to the sweet nothingness of post-rock (the easy listening of the late Tortoise, f.e.), is very carefully undermined by all the built-in edges and "un-domesticated" sounds (hope that word makes sense in English). P.S. After another listenings ession, i still don´t feel a "breathing" quality in the new Arcade Fire album (the opinion of a minority, I know; go to comment no. 16 on the AF-review, Mr. Meatbreak!). While I´m writing these lines, one of the fine tunes of Andrew Bird´s "Armchair Apocrypha" is filling the air, and, yeah, it´s breathing...
 
Posted 03/20/2007 - 11:37:40 AM by NickSouthall:
 By "breathing" are you talking about a sonic quality in the engineering / mixing? A sense of space and dynamic movement that makes songs seem more alive?
 
Posted 03/20/2007 - 12:02:59 PM by florenz6:
 Both, the technical side and the, ähem, psycho-acoustic side. I don´t want to overestimate the meaning of this word, but there is another great example for that quality on an album we both love, I think: this one hour-piece from The Necks (huh, man, just don´t remember the title)- it´s full of repetition, but, with the mixing technique being an important element, it creates this special sense of space that keeps the breath of the music alive. Like an organic machinery or something like that. The human factor.
 
Posted 03/20/2007 - 12:17:18 PM by florenz6:
 Let´s play the game: The 10 Most Breathing Albums That Spring To My Mind In This Moment: 1) Paul Bley: Open, To Love 2) Talk Talk: Spirit Of Eden 3) Harold Budd/Brian Eno: The Pearl 4)Miles Davis: Kind Of Blue 5)Joni Mitchell: Hejiira 6)Brian Eno: Apollo 7) The Necks: Drive-By (I was looking for it!) 8) Stars Of The Lid: And Their Refinement Of The Decline (this masterpiece will be released in April on Kranky Records) 9)Jan Garbarek-Bobo Stenson Quartet: Dansere 10)Cluster: Sowiesoso
 
Posted 03/20/2007 - 12:40:04 PM by aroddick:
 Man, good call on the necks - that album is great! I get what your saying about breathing.