Bjork
Volta

One Little Indian/Elektra
2007
A-
Reviewed by: Derek Miller
Reviewed on: 2007-05-07



Posted 05/07/2007 - 09:11:55 AM by fleezer:
 this woman is entirely incapable of writing a melody. i took a shit yesterday, this album came out...
 
Posted 05/07/2007 - 11:16:10 AM by cwperry:
 Worst album cover of the year.
 
Posted 05/07/2007 - 11:22:42 AM by florenz6:
 A great journey, and this music is a journey! I love the duets with Anthony as well, it´s all full of wonder, I will never sing in in the shower, maybe I will hear a remix in my dreams!
 
Posted 05/07/2007 - 11:22:53 AM by Meowface:
 you poor misguided fucks
 
Posted 05/07/2007 - 01:29:55 PM by remission_:
 At this rate it seems this comments page will only fill up with people talking about how much this album sucks/rules and how stupid someone else is for having an opinion that differs from theirs.
 
Posted 05/07/2007 - 02:05:37 PM by florenz6:
 Re:Remission - i´ve read your comment on Feist, and I can very well understand it though I like the album in some ways. Itis ,like good ambient music: you can listen to the songs carefully, and be rewarded for that in some special ways, or they are just doing thei background work on "Putumayo mode". I like how Feist can function on both levels and permit different kind of approaches. These I normally cannot have with Putumayo. Björk is another chapter entirely. It´s always interesting: sometimes, as some people like to say, "it blows me away", and the music has so many layers, and, some time single songs reveal a very simple structure that becomes touching after a while. She´s not always going for the super-complex polyrhythms etc. Rich stuff!
 
Posted 05/07/2007 - 06:01:27 PM by remission_:
 florenz6: This is probably better discussed in the Feist comments section, so i left my response there if you'd like to read it.
 
Posted 05/07/2007 - 06:28:28 PM by :
 remission: you're a fucken idiot, why waste a whole comment delivering us that juvenile crap and write something worthy yourself you cock
 
Posted 05/07/2007 - 08:00:12 PM by rvincentpeters:
 What are these special ways? I didn't know Anthony Michael Hall was a vocalist.
 
Posted 05/08/2007 - 01:15:21 AM by florenz6:
 Re: It is Anthny Hegarty from Anthiny and the Johnsons. By he´s singing his rising "the melancolic factor" like Robert Wyatt did on the fabulous "Medullah"...
 
Posted 05/08/2007 - 08:10:33 AM by itisOKbut:
 At this point it seems she is a lot better covering other people's songs. Her "Gloomy Sunday", "You only live twice" and "Boho dance" are definitive. Just give her a tune she respects enough and she doesn't opt for all that mandatory and tiresome experimentation and just shines.
 
Posted 05/08/2007 - 08:25:16 AM by florenz6:
 "The Boho Dance" is a fine cover version that reveals new aspects of the old song. But I really hope Björk is further into research and opening up horizons. A few remarks on, someone will wish a reuinion of the Sugarcubes! Björk does no l´art pour l´art, simple as that!
 
Posted 05/08/2007 - 10:35:09 AM by florenz6:
 i think it´s okay if Stylus headquarter wipes out nasty and offending comments (but why my open "No" to that kind of neurotic fuckhead-communication??) - so you should do it correctly and not let the words of this "pisser" called "Jess Graves" on the page. So do it again:)
 
Posted 05/08/2007 - 11:47:30 AM by prohibitedart:
 Let me just use this opportunity to mention that the review is much better than Pitchfork's. In fact, Pitchfork's review of this album is horrible. It has more to do with the promotion than what's actually heard on it.
Nice work, Derek.
 
Posted 05/08/2007 - 05:00:07 PM by barbarian:
 Nice review here. I was pretty letdown to see Pitchfork's review. Man, those guys have turned into complete fucking idiots. They had a decent site at one time, but within the last three or four years it's just been going down hill hard. It's worse than Stylus. Wow.
 
Posted 05/08/2007 - 09:26:54 PM by remission_:
 Hmm, i figured he was being sarcastic. I was hoping, at least.
 
Posted 05/11/2007 - 10:29:28 AM by cut_dead:
 Internet trolls are a delightful bunch, aren't they?
 
Posted 05/11/2007 - 09:25:20 PM by storrk:
 long time loyal Bjork fan is sadly disappointed.Derek,you are way too kind. I feel about half the album has 'the magic'.The other half is down right irritating.Oh well,all good things must come to an end.I think she may be retiring soon.Can't she find someone that sings better than Antony?I sing better than him.hahaha.....
 
Posted 05/12/2007 - 01:03:53 AM by lospettaculo:
 I can't say I understand the first paragraph of this review. Medulla is not only formally brilliant, but a great *POP* record; it has some surprisingly catchy melodies. "Where is the Line" was stuck in my head for like a year, and Submarine is also pretty appealing. Oh, and "Who is it" is like vintage 90s Bjork. So I wouldn't say it's sterile or unmemorable.
 
Posted 05/16/2007 - 04:17:46 AM by prohibitedart:
 After several listens, I'm convinced this album is somewhere around a B. It has some incredible tunes on it, but it fails to collect as a cohesive body of work. It feels like a few separate EPs, actually.
From others reviews I've read since my last comment, it seems like there was some miscommunication on what this Volta was supposed to be, and too many critics judged the record solely on what Bjork hinted. This shouldn't be.
"Vertebrae by Vertebrae" may be my favorite track; the haunting horn section is unlike anything I've heard in some time.
 
Posted 05/22/2007 - 04:05:40 PM by phonyartist:
 I appreciate the review. I guess I don't get Bjork. This album is plain awful. It's too self-absorbed like Matthew Barney's art ego. After awhile you just want to leave the room and embrace the sound of silence. I've been quite disappointed with the new music released by many talented artists out there. The knife's record was the last good album that actually moved me more ways than one. I've been listening Eno's early work and wonder how music became so uninspired. Maybe I'm getting old.
 
Posted 05/23/2007 - 06:25:29 PM by cwperry:
 phonyartist: I think 2007 is a slump year in general. This is one of the worst years for music, I think, in quite some time.
 
Posted 05/24/2007 - 07:48:25 AM by PhilHarmonic:
 THE best album cover of the new millenium
 
Posted 05/24/2007 - 10:19:02 AM by diddywah:
 "phonyartist: I think 2007 is a slump year in general. This is one of the worst years for music, I think, in quite some time." Based on what exactly? There are loads of great records being released, if you're bored you're not looking hard enough