Tori Amos
American Doll Posse

Epic
2007
D+
Reviewed by: Liz Colville
Reviewed on: 2007-05-09



Posted 05/09/2007 - 11:54:12 AM by mvdu76:
 I rarely agree with this reviewer, and here comes another huge disagreement. This is her most diverse and powerful album yet. I am buying it.
 
Posted 05/09/2007 - 12:45:58 PM by ThomasTheTank:
 Liz, it's 5 characters she is assuming, not 3. However, the album is quite bad.
 
Posted 05/09/2007 - 01:17:07 PM by unsaunsa:
 It does have one positive, it's not as bad as The Beekeeper. It's a slightly lighter shade of dirge.
 
Posted 05/09/2007 - 05:28:55 PM by jonasjones:
 There are so many mistakes in this review that I was turned off by it before I could finish reading. Still, I finished it. Has the reviewer actually listened to the album? Because it looks like she chose two or three tracks, some lines, and that was it. It's so in vogue to speak ill of Amos without even paying attention to her music that I won't be surprised if that's also the case here. This entire review is so off I couldn't believe my eyes. Perhaps I shouldn't have read the Pop Matters review before this one given the former's incredible superiority.
 
Posted 05/09/2007 - 08:53:32 PM by slugabed:
 This album is not as bad as the reviewer is making it out to be, D+ is a little harsh. I think a C+, or even a B- would of been more fitting. It's not her best work, but not everything on this album is filler, either. Songs to check out; Girl Disappearing, Dragon, Smokey Joe, Code Red, Father's Son, Body and Soul, Devils and Gods. Songs to avoid; Mr. Bad Man, Bouncing off Clouds, Velvet Revolution, and maybe another track that I can't think of. Anyway, It's hard to imagine that Tori will ever release an album as good as her first four albums, but it's good to know that she still has amazing potential. I would say avoid this review, and listen to the album with an open mind.
 
Posted 05/10/2007 - 01:46:19 PM by toddburns:
 The above mentioned mistake has been corrected on 5/10/2007.
 
Posted 05/11/2007 - 06:31:01 PM by GoneToTheDogs:
 Am I the only one who thinks that a lot of the time these reviewers are self-indulgent morons who jot down whatever literary diarrhea they can to make themselves sound more intelligent and important than they actually are? Stylus is utter krap. Why do their retarded reviewers expect Tori to be making another re-hash of LE or FTCH ? I'm sure that would be their first criticism if she had... there's no pleasing these people. And they can't even get their facts right -- Tori's 43, not 44. They have to consider the album in its current context and time, and what she set out to do. You can't keep faulting someone for not writing the exact same songs in the exact same style about the exact same subject matter over and over. What a joke this publication is!
 
Posted 05/11/2007 - 08:34:09 PM by jonasjones:
 Since the mistakes are being corrected: Little Earthquakes was not released in 1993. As GonetotheDogs mentioned, Tori's not 44. "Sometimes I watch the wOnder in your eyes." How can I take this review seriously if the reviewer doesn't even do some research? How can you criticize the concept of the album if you don't know what this concept is? Talk about epic mistakes.