Grand National
A Drink and a Quick Decision

Recall Records
2007
B+
Reviewed by: Mallory O’Donnell
Reviewed on: 2007-06-28



Posted 06/28/2007 - 10:06:31 AM by florenz6:
 Hello, advertisers! After reading this review I cannot resist to order Grand National. Though I do not always agree with Mallory O., this is just too promising!
 
Posted 06/28/2007 - 01:06:36 PM by florenz6:
 You simply describe this music in a way I´m ready to love the music even before hearing it:) And, well, this could become a running gag. Mallory O. writing reviews that only get comments from Florenz6. It happened more than once, f.e. with the overlooked Caetano album:) So, let´s play this game the other way round: I give you the names of some great new albums, and you´ll review them. Deal? Although this is not meant to be deadly serious, you sure find here some high-rating stuff - I "profiled" your tastes! Here we go: Alog: Amateur; Robert Wyatt: Comic Opera; Hakon Kornstad: Single Engine; Brasil 70: After Tropicalia; Kammerflimmer Kollektief: Jinx; Euros Childs: The Miracle Inn. And unbelievable that Stylus didn´t review this weird and wild non-Ecm-like ECM album "Prezens" by Mr. David Torn. Wait and listen!
 
Posted 06/29/2007 - 07:06:08 AM by karldudley:
 florenz6, I saw Euro Childs the other day at Glastonbury - they were terrific! Looking forward to their album now. I've not heard of many of the other bands in your list though.
 
Posted 06/29/2007 - 09:35:09 AM by florenz6:
 Well, is aw Euros in berlin last year. I simply love his wway of singing, though hs last solo effort (Bore Da) was kind of sub-optimal. Concerning the other records on the list; well Euros loves the songs of Robert Wyatt (a man coming from another age and still doing masterpieces). With Gorky´s Zygotic Mynci Euros once did a cover version of an old Wyatt tune, "Caroline". Mr. Dudley, go for Robert Wyatt´s "Cuckooland" (2003) That was my A++ album of that year! And, in fact, Wyatt´s wife, Alfie did some cover paintings for the great Welsh band!
 
Posted 06/29/2007 - 04:03:27 PM by karldudley:
 Hey, just had a quick look at that Wyatt album and it looks really cool, will check it out. His wiki page describes something called "Wyatting" - which is putting obscure songs on pub juke boxes to annoy people, very funny! Might try that!
 
Posted 06/30/2007 - 12:25:20 PM by florenz6:
 Mr. Dudley, buy "Cuckooland". Probably you will get addicted to it. Then there is only one remedy, buy Robert Wyatt´s other recent works working backwards in time: "Shleep" (1997), "Dondestan" (1991), "Old Rottenhat" (1986). Before approaching the Seventies, make a break at "The Miracle inn" with "Euros Childs" (on Wichita Rec.) - and then (if you have any jazz blood running through your veins), go for Wyatt´s 70´s classics "Ruth is Stranger Than Richard" (1975) and the gorgeous "Rock Bottom" (1974). If you catch fire on "Cuckooland", you´ll find yourself one of your most adventurous sound journeys of 2007!:)
 
Posted 06/30/2007 - 12:38:50 PM by florenz6:
 One more, Karl: in an interview I asked Euros Childs about his all time favourite album. The answer was a surprise: "The Fantastic Expeditions Of Dillard and Clark", at least he called it one his all time favourites. I bought that record , it´s from the early 70s and a wild ride through blue grass, rock, folk by Doug Dillard and Gene Clark (yes, The Byrds-man.) I wouldn´t hang it that high, but it has one the most beautiful songs of that era I didn´t know at all: "The Radio Song".