Jimmy Eat World
Clarity

Capitol
1999; r: 2007
A
Reviewed by: Charles Merwin
Reviewed on: 2007-08-09



Posted 08/09/2007 - 11:29:19 AM by Garret:
 Shit, this is a great album. "Blister" completely destroys. The thing sounds great, too! Nice warm listenable production. "Goodbye Sky Harbor" is a miserable failure, yet it still manages to kick serious ass. They killed Weezer (and Death Cab For Cutie, for that matter, who hadn't even come to prominence yet!), yes, and with their next record, they sadly killed themselves, launching themselves into a position where they would never be able to make albums like THIS anymore, while giving them the chance to really be the next Weezer and just make awesomely tight pop/rock records. But then they suddenly became really horrible and unremarkable and does anyone even remember anything about their last album? Maybe their last two albums (or however many they've released post-2001)... nobody knows or cares)? It's sad, really.
 
Posted 08/09/2007 - 11:55:00 AM by J_R_K_:
 i've changed my mind on this record more than i can remember. i loved static prevails and when clarity came out, i initially hated it. then i came around. after hearing bleed american i decided i was done with jimmy eat world. sweetness, best song ever, should have been on clarity originally.
 
Posted 08/09/2007 - 12:04:47 PM by SebastianSS:
 If Jimmy Eat World can get both the reissue treatment and a strained attempt at canonization, I fear for what might come next; I imagine that (with an equal application of this review's leaps between critical reality and teenage justification) nearly every album from 1998-2003 that -almost- went gold could find a similar place in history. The misconception that influence should automatically be aligned with greatness is particularly apparent with emo, since the immediate influence of defensible second wave emo bands washed away in the long term to the tepid constitution of bands like Jimmy Eat World.
 
Posted 08/09/2007 - 12:54:03 PM by johnedowney:
 "Dude, put on some Jimmy Eat World." "Okay, but which one, man?" "The one that everybody at this bojangly-diggity shoestaring gets! The one that rocks the party!" "Huh?" "The one that came before Emogame!" "Again, huh?" "The one in which they combined their pop sensibilities with vague feelings brought on by loving teenage girls and loving masturbation!" "...You're starting to scare me, dude." "The one where they made a semi-hit song that simultaneously quoted every Boston-born native ever and Razor Ramon!" "...?" "The one with the trophy on it to celebrate their innate liquidity inside of every gaseous fusion particle from UCLA to Amherst, the one where being on TRL was okay because people liked them, the album that Thursday probably wished they could ever make, the piece of art that was playing when the object of your affection took off for the moon to see the stars of the uppermost junosphere!" "NAME IT, DUDE!" "'Bleed American'. Or their self-titled. I forget which. And that's probably the whole point, since..." "Brent, I'll put it on if you promise to not smoke this shit for the rest of this night." "Ah, but it is 11:55 right now. In 5 minutes, then, I shall partake in smoking the 2nd most calming phallic symbol of all time. Jambo, cocksuckers."
 
Posted 08/09/2007 - 01:22:59 PM by cwperry:
 I don't care if they recorded the lost third side of Abbey Road; with that band name I will never be able to tolerate a moment of their music.
 
Posted 08/09/2007 - 01:24:38 PM by cwperry:
 SebastianSS: I agree. My hatred of their name aside, there are plenty of other reasons why this band will never have a fighting chance with me.
 
Posted 08/09/2007 - 01:38:07 PM by baconfat:
 "This band could be the next Goo Goo Dolls." who knew brent d. was a fucking psychic?
 
Posted 08/09/2007 - 05:25:07 PM by syurix:
 I love when Stylus defends Mall Emo. This is mostly because rocking J.E.W. S.T.D. and Mid-90s Weezer in the early 00s was my introduction to anything that existed outside of the radio. We all know that the plot got lost eventually, but I'm still pumped to rediscover this thing.
 
Posted 08/09/2007 - 10:40:21 PM by SebastianSS:
 When I said "I fear for what comes next," I hadn't even thought that Saves the Day would come into the picture, let alone get an equally embarrassing acronym. If critical nostalgia for tripe like Something Corporate forms five years from now, any notions of "critical perspective" should be thrown out of the window.
 
Posted 08/09/2007 - 11:47:16 PM by bassman08:
 Can we really call DiCrescenzo a "critic"? PS I liked Bleed American circa sophomore year of high school. Sweetness and the Title track were both kickass.
 
Posted 08/10/2007 - 08:52:09 AM by boilingboy:
 DiCrescenzo the former Pitchfork critic? That guy was my hero in the earlier days of P-fork. Also, his trashing of "St. Anger" and "The Fragile" are legendary pieces. A real music fan has a sensitive bullshit detector, people!
 
Posted 08/10/2007 - 11:47:47 AM by Garret:
 Brent is awesome, yeah. His Jets To Brazil review is probably my favorite thing on that site. Dude knows his shit. Clarity is a good record.
 
Posted 08/10/2007 - 01:32:16 PM by cwperry:
 syurix: "Mall emo"! My god, that is hilarious (though I don't think you intend it to be). Thank you a thousand times; I now have the perfect name for all this shit.
 
Posted 08/11/2007 - 03:38:17 PM by barbarian:
 DiCrescenzo > Stylus. Weezer was never great and needless to say Jimmy Eat World... Well, why say what is needless?