M.I.A.
Kala

XL
2007
A
Reviewed by: Evan McGarvey
Reviewed on: 2007-08-21



Posted 08/21/2007 - 08:37:49 AM by dbvisel:
 "Gayatri"
 
Posted 08/21/2007 - 10:16:09 AM by smwynne:
 More talk about the songs, less telling me what I think about modern life.
 
Posted 08/21/2007 - 11:49:38 AM by arsetothat:
 This is the album that Bjork wished Volta would have been.
 
Posted 08/21/2007 - 01:02:46 PM by yarn24:
 I'm glad to see this album finally getting some love. It has gotten some strong reviews but also some really bad ones (hello Vibe and Cokemachineglow). Although I think is just a tad too generous (I would say A-) it is nice to know this score will off-set the some of the ridiculously low ones on metacritic.
 
Posted 08/21/2007 - 02:52:01 PM by Zarklephaser:
 Most overrated album of the year. I was very glad to read the Cokemachineglow review, it was right on. Everyone else is off the mark.
 
Posted 08/21/2007 - 08:20:57 PM by csharp:
 I love the album. I wish the album had a bit less devastation and noise but by judging the cover it seems as though that is exactly what she was looking for. I suppose the album is pretty cohesive in sticking with this theme save a the few lighter songs on the album (Jimmy, Come Around). I definitely would not have minded an entire album of "Paper Planes." That shit is the jawn.
 
Posted 08/23/2007 - 01:30:58 PM by florenz6:
 Well, it´s all a bit over the top, a bit more space would be fine. Hyperactive.
 
Posted 08/23/2007 - 04:00:00 PM by mdf---:
 What exactly is "right on" about the cokemachineglow review? It just seems to be -insolently- trying to deny an album of obvious brilliance.
 
Posted 08/24/2007 - 11:32:04 AM by johnedowney:
 CMG's reviews can be a bit too "out there" to be effective most of the time, but I thought that CMG's criticisms of "Kala" were spot on. It's too uneven for its own good, there's only a few good songs on it (though "Bird Flu" and "Paper Planes" could be considered reason enough to drop $15), and it lacks "Arular"'s sense of fun, which makes the subpar tracks really stand out.
 
Posted 08/25/2007 - 08:17:15 AM by fleezer:
 the last album CMG was correct on was pantha du prince, other than that its been a shitfest. highest rated frog eyes? fuck that, a piece of shit review and a pretty self-interested piece of shit album. god i hate mercers lyrics, makes me feel embarrassed. CMG is usually wrong... as for kala i love this record, really wonderful. not so much mia herself but the production and sounds (which might be her i dont know). it just sounds right and certainly current. definately the most creative record out there this year, at least one of them
 
Posted 08/27/2007 - 12:23:35 PM by florenz6:
 mdf-- be careful with the terminus "obvious brilliance". Excellence lies in the eyes of the beholder / listener. I don´t realize "obvious brilliance", I listen to some great songs and moments, but most of the pieces lack a sense of space, they are crammed full, so to speak, and not to their advantage. One exception is "Jimmy"...
 
Posted 08/27/2007 - 06:28:58 PM by mdf---:
 I see your point about brilliance being in the eye of the beholder, one way to look at the album is that its "crammed full" to its own detriment, another way is that its an exhilarating attention to detail that makes it exceptional. I'm not sure I'd call it perfect, but I thought "Bamboo Banga" was well worth the purchase alone.
 
Posted 10/07/2007 - 11:09:49 PM by dougrokakis:
 big fan of this.